Exploring Dalaguete, North of Cebu

 

My last post before this was probably two years ago when I left my previous company and decided to just do home based jobs during which I had ample of times going to not-so-far places. Then I was preoccupied with so many p njrojects and totally lost interest to travel until I broke my ankle last Christmas and was unable to walk for more than three months. I stayed at home in my little hometown away from the hassles and bustles of the Metropolitan. The first few days was pure bliss, a total escape from my daily expenses and my daily routine of waking up at seven o’clock in the evening and going to work from ten prime meridian till six anti meridian.  Then the following days seemed to turn a little somber and I suddenly realized that I was stuck. Unable to do the things I usually do at home which include but not limited to going to our local beaches or do a little trek somewhere familiar. I became bored. It was a fact I couldn’t do anything about. Then I said to myself that if I can ever walk again, I would start doing things I have not thought of doing before having the injury. One of which is traveling to both known and unknown places – not much of a very-life-changing revelation, I know haha! On a more serious note, when you lose something you would not have thought of losing such as the ability to walk, you will realize its importance and the measure of opportunities and time you have taken for granted. Not a very unfamiliar story but I’m quite sure it doesn’t happen to everybody.

So in connection to that not-so-drastic moment of enlightenment I’ve encountered, I have made my first ever trip, within the province of Cebu. Well, that was after my Lanipao Rainforest visit some years ago. And because my right foot was still suffering from atrophy, and the doctor strongly advised me not to go to high places within a year from the incident, I and my long time friend James have decided to just crash out trekking and anything related to excessive walks. Take note that we didn’t have itinerary for this trip and we just let it that way. It was initially planned in less than an hour during work hours and then we never talked about it until the day of travel. And because of that, we forgot bringing a lot of necessary things.

So here are some of the mobile photos we managed to take from the places we went to.

This is the mini public museum of the beautiful Dalaguete. It’s situated right in the heart of the town in front of its rotunda.

We went off the bus at around 11:00am since Dalaguete is more or less a 3-hour drive from the city and we left Cebu City’s South Bus Terminal at around 8:00am. So we decided to have our lunch at the town’s famous Mama’s Batchoy.

They say if you wanna feature an establishment or something you gotta do the obligatory door shot. So there you go 😂

Mama’s Batchoy basically serves typical Filipino dish known to us as “karenderya foods”. What’s making it different from the rest is they cooked it with all the ingredients in. So that each dish offers authentic taste that would not disappoint.

My friend James enjoying our lunch consisting of escabeche, tinulang isda, veggies and pork bola-bola. Oh, and not to forget the RICE.

But what makes Mama’s Batchoy really standout is the dish where the shop was named after – the batchoy. Batchoy is just basically a noodle soup made with pork organs, crushed pork cracklings, chicken stock and beef loin. But Mama must have a secret potion that makes her batchoy one of a kind as the shop have now become everyone’s favorite and a place to recommend.

After having our sumptuous lunch, we started our exploration by riding a tricycle for 10 peso each going to San Guillermo de Aquitania Parish Church, the town’s patron and is said to be one of the oldest churches in the province.

On a tricycle with Kuya Gwapo peering for a groufie.

San Guillermo de Aquitania Parish Church was only a less than ten minute drive from Mama’s Bachoy.

The proud façade of San Guillermo de Aquitania Parish church under a not-so-bluish sky.

Unfortunately enough, my OppoF1S is not designed for wide-screen captures so let’s just say, let’s help each other connect the pieces of the puzzle.

Checking the fine details of San Guillermo de Aquitania arcade.

This is the left wing of the church. It could be an additional structure which is more recent than the main edifice, or it could also be as old as the main structure itself but has been recently restored because the texture of its exterior is somewhat too smooth for a stonewall. Then again, there is no way for me to prove it because we didn’t even bother to talk to someone credible to give out such information. We just stood there, took random shots while appreciating its beauty and then gone.

This is the façade of the San Guillermo de Aquitania. And yes, that was me standing there black as coal. No, I tried to make the color darker because the original image was too bright the wall details was not visible enough. So yeah, a little sacrifice should do 🙂
The San Guillermo de Aquitania bell tower.

After witnessing the beauty of the olden day architecture, we headed to a more diverse and exotic natural wonder, the enchanting Obong Spring. It is a fresh water spring that flows near the beach. Because of its proximity, the current of the sea prevented the steady outpour to flow directly to the open making the water brackish. Obong Spring itself is an estuary,  a partially enclosed coastal body of brackish water with one or more streams flowing into it, and with a free connection to the open sea.

Visitors enjoying the coolness of Obong Spring under the heat of the sun.

If you are wondering why there were only a number of photos in this location, well, unfortunately enough, I accidentally deleted most of them because I was sleepless for almost 24 hours straight from a night shift and my body and brain were no longer coordinating.

This has to be the brackish where Mangroves naturally grows.

The water in Obong Spring was so cold, it was really a temptation on a hot summer afternoon but unlike James who enjoyed the water like a 9th grader, I chose not to dive in because I didn’t wanna tire myself more and sleep the day through.

After getting ourselves bewitched by the enchanting atmosphere of Obong Spring, we went to get ourselves on a habal-habal to take us to Brgy. Maloray, the topmost part of Dalaguete, for a promise of strawberry goodness. I kind of disagreed at first of the one-way 150 peso fare each. I thought that was overpricing. But it took us more or less than an hour to reach Sergio’s Farm, the farm that cultivates Organic Strawberry. Not to mention the buhis-buhay experience from under construction road winds along the cliffs, which was built at a very steep angle, it felt like the cliff is going to swallow you every time you look down. So I realized the fare was just fair.

The most heartbreaking experience happened when we reached the farm and I learned that the dirt road toward the farm which is a few meters away from the main road was also very steep, it was preventing me to witness the strawberries. So I had zero to none photo taken except for the single shot of this mini rice terraces which is a little too cute for me to remain at a ‘beast mode’ level.

Mini rice terraces at the side of Brgy. Maloray’s main road which serves to be the entrance of the farm.

Brgy. Maloray has a lot of Pine Niddles and White Pine Trees going on. You can see them in almost every roadsides and hills like they were a day old shaven mustache on a man’s chin. I was thinking of stopping by a group of White Pine Trees on our way to the town for a few snaps but I felt a twinge on my right foot so I decided not to.

LRM_EXPORT_20170403_144018
Veggie tramline project in Brgy. Mantalongon.

On our way back, we stopped over a veggie tramline project which were similar to cable cars. These tramlines are connected to different mountainous barangays in the topmost part of Dalaguete. It is in these barangays where the vegetable basket in the Province of Cebu is located, particularly in barangay Mantalongon. So these tramlines are really a necessity.

After hitting the town, we went directly to Tingko Beach Resort in Alcoy, the neighboring town in the south of Dalaguete to chill and stay for the night.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The waters of Tingko Beach.

We arrived in Tingko Beach Resort at almost 6:00pm. The weather was not fine and raindrops were gonna fall anytime. While we were trying to relax at the beachfront, we noticed pieces of trash scattered everywhere and the sight somewhat made us change our minds.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

It was a high tide so what was left of the supposed shoreline was the rocky part of it and it also turned us off. Plus the weather.

Processed with VSCO

So instead of camping overnight, we both have agreed to go back to the city.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

And that’s a wrap!

 

TRANSPORTATION EXPENSES

  • Bus fare from Cebu South Bus Terminal to Dalaguete proper: ₱240 (two-way)
  • Tricycle fare from Mama’s Batchoy to San Guillermo de Aquitania Parish: ₱10
  • Tricycle fare from  San Guillermo de Aquitania Parish to Obong Spring: ₱10
  • Habal-habal fare from Obong Spring to Segio’s Farm in Mantalongon: ₱300 (two-way)
  • Strawberry Farm entrance fee: ₱50
  • Tricycle fare from Dalaguete to Tingko Beach Resort, Alcoy: ₱20
  • Tingko Beach Resort entrance fee:  ₱100

TOTAL: ₱730

Leave a Reply

